National Honor Society Inducts 44

In a ceremony held in the Performing Arts Center, the St. Johns chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) inducted 44 new members this morning. Due to COVID-19 precautions, other than a few presenters, existing National Honor Society members did not join the ceremony live. Existing members include: 

  Ethan Albright Abbey Lantinberg
  Julia Andrawis John B. Linge
  Yashas Aprameya Gabrielle Loustau
  Maxwell Arnold Spencer Martin
  Avery Baskin Madeline Moody
  Tilson Branch Connor Moore
  Fred Cone Julia Nichols
  Chloe Davis Alexa Radford
  Alexander Dimmick Isabella Richardson
  Alexis Drumm Ellie Rosenau
  Amelia Dyer Julia Schildberg
  Brooke Ferris Luke Shannahan
  Natalie Higingbotham Jason Thomas
  Desiree Holmberg Alexa Verboort
  Bianca Horen James Wilson
  Jacob Kailes Anna Wulbern
  Maggie Kent Cade Zehner
  Allison Korahais  


NHS Sponsor Elizabeth Herzog opened the ceremony, which was livestreamed at for parents, fellow students, friends, and family members. 

"It is my pleasure to welcome you this morning as we welcome those juniors and seniors  who have earned the distinction of membership in the National Honor Society. We are happy finally to be able to host today's induction ceremony with the students in person." Mrs. Herzog noted that seniors who have already been inducted into the National Honor Society would conduct the ceremony and turned the podium over to John B. Linge '21. 

"The National Honor Society is sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals," said Linge. "Its purposes are to create enthusiasm for scholarship, to render service to the school and community, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students of the nation's secondary schools." 

In order to become a member of the St. Johns chapter of the National Honor Society a student must have a cumulative Upper School grade point average of at least 3.6 at the end of the Sophomore or Junior year, must have been a St. Johns student for at least a year, must be an active participant in School activities, and must exhibit the finest qualities of character.

Even through the pandemic, Linge noted, many NHS members have continued the School chapter's primary service project—that of peer tutors.

With that, James Wilson '21 called new inductees to the stage:

From the Class of 2021:

  Alexis Agramonte Mykel Frazier
  Landon Brafford Jona Kats
  Stephanie Constantino Walker Mathews
  Chloe Crews Max Monroe
  Paige Crews Mia Sadler

And from the Class of 2022:

  Angie Arellano Jeramy Lewis
  Julia Boaventura Jack Minners
  John Cabrera Kiera Moisan
  Abbie Campbell Jonathan Moore
  Kaiya Cooper Tyce Moore
  Lauren Correia Mia Morin
  Walker Cowherd Robert Morris
  Addie Ellis Riley Myers
  Mary Beth Garrison Lillian Ouattara
  Susannah Goodwin Luke Pardo
  Sean Gregson Maggie Pizzi
  Kinley Hall Nate Rowan
  Evelyn Hanson Noelle Sanford
  Adan Herrera Ariel Sauer
  Jude Howell Callum Steiner
  Finn Howell Matthew Stratton
  Hannah Lemieux Jordan Taylor

A candle was lit as an NHS member spoke about each of the four pillars of the National Honor Society-- scholarship, service, leadership, and character-- and the inductees repeated the National Honor Society Pledge:

I pledge myself to uphold
The purposes of the National Honor Society.
I will be true to the principles for which it stands;
I will be loyal to my school;
I will maintain high standards of scholarship,
High standards of service,
High standards of leadership,
and high standards of character.

"You are St. Johns," said Head of Upper School Mary Virginia Fisher to the new inductees, "and I look forward to seeing these young men and women and what they do in their lives in college and beyond."

Congratulations, National Honor Society members!

The ceremony is available for viewing at


  • academics