National Honor Society Inducts 36

Tuesday afternoon, the St. Johns chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) inducted 36 juniors and seniors as new members. They join the 34 existing members who were inducted last year:

  Angie Arellano Jeramy Lewis
  Julia Boaventura Jack Minners
  John Cabrera Kiera Moisan
  Abbie Campbell Jonathan Moore
  Kaiya Cooper Tyce Moore
  Lauren Correia Mia Morin
  Walker Cowherd Robert Morris
  Addie Ellis Riley Myers
  Mary Beth Garrison Lillian Ouattara
  Susannah Goodwin Luke Pardo
  Sean Gregson Maggie Pizzi
  Kinley Hall Nate Rowan
  Evelyn Hanson Noelle Sanford
  Adan Herrera Ariel Sauer
  Finn Howell Callum Steiner
  Jude Howell Matthew Stratton
  Hannah Lemieux Jordan Taylor

And Junior Kellen Brown, who was inducted at his previous school. 

After opening the ceremony and introducing existing members, NHS sponsor Stacy Johnson turned the program over to the chapter’s senior members. 

“In order to become a member of the St. Johns chapter of the National Honor Society, said Mia Morin ‘22, “a student must have a cumulative Upper School grade point average of at least 3.6 at the end of the sophomore or junior year, must have been a St. Johns student for at least a year, must be an active participant in school activities, and must exhibit the finest qualities of character.”

With that, Senior John Cabrera introduced the new inductees:

From the Class of 2023:

  Kennedy Brown Thomas Keenan
  Brooks Burson Anna Kemp
  Javier Coll-Román Talon Luster
  Noah Cone Abigail Maierhoffer
  William Cooper Marshall Martin
  Emerson Cooper Jack McNulty
  Ally Desguin Juliet Moody
  Josie Dinkins Jack Mooneyham
  Trey Dubnansky Cookie Myers
  Kali Evans Hunter Noble
  Meg Fackler Daniela Oceguera
  Andrew Hightower Aidan Rice
  Shannon Hodges Emma Schultz
  Antonio Holmberg Chloe Smith
  Jacob Holyer Jacob Thomas
  Hunter Hopkins Patrick Walsh
  Sam Hopkins Lily Weldon
  Ava Johnson  

And from the Class of 2022:

      Emelia Morton

Each inductee was called to the stage and presented with a certificate of membership. 











A candle was lit for each National Honor Society pillar—scholarship, service, leadership, and character—as an NHS member spoke about it. Then, the inductees repeated the National Honor Society Pledge:

I pledge myself to uphold

The purposes of the National Honor Society.

I will be true to the principles for which it stands;

I will be loyal to my school;

I will maintain high standards of scholarship,

High standards of service,

High standards of leadership,

and high standards of character.

Next, Head of Middle and Upper Schools Jackie Lentini introduced the afternoon’s speaker, Mr. Matthew Jones, a 2001 St. Johns Country Day School graduate. In 2005 Mr. Jones graduated from Florida State University with a bachelor of the arts degree in design and he is now Vice President at H. Stephen Jones and Associates, Inc. Mr. Jones was recently named one of Jacksonville’s 40 under 40 by the Jacksonville Business Journal. Mr. Jones spoke with the students about the qualities of scholarship, service, leadership, and character.

“I truly hope that each of you feels a sense of honor and pride in this outstanding accomplishment,” said Jones. “The four qualifying characteristic pillars of the National Honor Society will all undoubtedly serve you well throughout your personal, professional, and scholastic career.” 

Congratulations, National Honor Society members!




  • academics